​Coronavirus Relief Options - Paycheck Protection Program (PPP), Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL)

PPP Update - November 18, 2020

PLW CPA PLLC

Helpful Links:

43184 Dequindre Rd. Ste. 203
Sterling Heights, MI 48314
Phone: 586-726-3141
Fax: 586-726-8599

PLW CPA can help you prepare your PPP Forgiveness Application - Contact Us Today

Bob Wexler, CPA 
Patty Wexler, CPA

Stephanie Ventimiglia, CPA
Judi Rosso, CPA
Lesley Hoin
Karen Lawnicki
Candy Wilson

The IRS has previously released guidance saying that expenses paid with Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) proceeds which would otherwise be deductible will not be permitted to be deducted. There was much hope in the business community that this ruling would be overturned since it effectively reduces the benefit of PPP by a company’s marginal tax rate.

Unfortunately, the IRS released another revenue ruling on November 18, 2020 affirming its previous stance. The ruling can be found here and essentially states that if there is a reasonable expectation that a PPP loan will be forgiven then the PPP borrower cannot deduct the expenses for tax purposes.

Given that this is the second time the IRS has taken this stance, it is likely that legislation would be needed from Congress to change directions.

Covid-19 Resources 

Certified Public Accountants

PLW CPA PLLC

Phone: 586-726-3141

bob@plwcpa.com      
patty@plwcpa.com

stephanie@plwcpa.com  
judi@plwcpa.com        
lesley@plwcpa.com
karen@plwcpa.com
candy@plwcpa.com